Ratings, reviews, plans and features to help you find the right web hosting provider for your site.

Reviews of Cedant

Cedant : User Reviews
Web Host Site: http://www.cedant.com/
[Add To Favourites] [Submit a review]



Cedant web hosting plans listed at Best Host Ratings:



Average Rating of Cedant


Overall rating

4.80/10

Customer support

4.50/10

Technical quality/Reliability

4.90/10

Cost/Value

5.60/10


Based on 15 user reviews and votes

Cedant average Uptime 88.711%

View Details Based on 4221 days of uptime monitoring of 1 web sites hosted with Cedant
Click here for complete reliability report

Worst Hosts Ever

posted on Apr 21, 2008 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Cedant for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of Apr 21, 2008): N/A

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 1

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

Absolutely do not use these a-----es, and if you value your business and your sanity transfer your site before its too late. Something changed with Cedant in the last year (2007-8), and they are now unbearable.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Leaving Cedant ASAP

posted on Apr 21, 2008 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Cedant for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of Apr 21, 2008): N/A

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 1

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

For the last six months Cedant has come up with new and progressively more annoying ways to screw up everything from tech to billing. My company is now in the process of finding a new host. Its a shame since Cedant started off very responsive to my small business. I don't know what happened, but they are no longer worth the amount of time and effort it takes to deal with them.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Who speaks English

posted on Nov 26, 2007 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: www.ttrove.com

Used the services of Cedant for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of Nov 26, 2007): Current customer

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 2

We have used Cedant for over 9 years and are now going to move to another host. Out site has been moving very slow it at all and they are claiming nothing is wrong. They have now moved there support to Europe and the reps speak such poor English you cannot understand them. They could care less about service. They had excellant customer service for years but have now taken the cheap route for there employees.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

cedant.com, aplus.net

posted on Aug 03, 2007 by Manuel Marinho

User email: Hidden

Web site: www.mannyaa.com

Used the services of Cedant for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of Aug 03, 2007): Less than 3 months ago

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 1

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

Worked with Cedant for over 5 years. They used to offer good service at a reasonable price. I don't know what happened to them but they have become extremely horrible! I went out of my way to try to get them to address the poor service but was just ignored. Maybe they no longer understand English due to the new staff? Support is horrible, they take forever to get back to you by email and have very very poor knowledge. Also if you ever call them on the phone you will notice that you can barely understand the person on the other end. I don't know if they have outsourced the support or if they hire people that have just arrived fresh off the boat.

Put in a request to close my account and get my credit due back to me, heard back several days later with a response that my account would be closed next week. It's been almost one week since I requested the account to be closed, it's still active. And I never got a response to my credit request. They simply ignore you! They have become total trash, avoid them at all costs! And by the way aplus.net is part of Cedant (same company, same owners). Avoid both!


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Not good

posted on May 09, 2006 by Anonymous

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Cedant for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of May 09, 2006): Current customer

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 5

Webhost Technical quality rating: 5

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 5

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 5

Listen, I've been with Cedant for over 3 years, and so have a few of my clients. I have stopped recommending them. I've had intermittent email problems (mail server down, mail rejected outright) as well as server problems (site down for up to 10 hours, not very often, but every few months).

Recently, a client's site was 'suspended' because she exceeded the FTP limit. There was no email, no warning, nothing. They just took the site down and erased it from the DNS. It has been down 12 hours now with no explanation. So, both the site and email are down (this is her primary work email). In other words, everything is getting rejected. They said it will be fixed 'in a couple of hours'.

As an apology, they offered one month free hosting (a $7.95 value!). I don't think so.

I will be transferring myself and this client to another host. You have got to be kidding me. You cannot run a business without reliability!


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Bad Host

posted on Nov 29, 2005 by Steve Landon

User email: Hidden

Web site: n/a

Used the services of Cedant for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of Nov 29, 2005): 1 year - 3 years ago

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 3

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

Cednat is nothing but another poor hosting reseller. They put me and others out of business with all of their problems.I don't how they could ever get a good rating.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Great host

posted on Jul 21, 2004 by A custmer

User email: n/a

Web site: n/a

Used the services of Cedant for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of Jul 21, 2004): N/A

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: n/a

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 9

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 9

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I tried 3 or 4 other hosting companies. Cedant is the BEST I've seen. They are also Americans who speak and understand our language clearly! Their basic plan is around $5/month. The domain registration and renewal is a great price too.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(1)

I don't understand the negatives

posted on Aug 30, 2003 by Jim Kerr

User email:

Web site: www.arcmag.com

Used the services of Cedant for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of Aug 30, 2003): Over 3 years ago

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: Advanced

Customer support rating: 8

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I've been a Cedant customer for three years, and I have had outstanding service for the entire time. When I call, someone answers. When I e-mail someone answers.

My only (and I mean ONLY) complaint was when they took a 6 hour span on my deadline day to update their mail server and didn't tell me. Six hours of downtime (and even then only for 6 hours of pop mail delays) doesn't seem bad to me.

I really can't comprehend any of the negative reviews here because they are so alien to my experience. I had a Mysql problem, and customer support had it fixed in less than a day. My site is fast and always up.

I actually inquired about a VPS server with Cedant, and the sales person was very knowledgeable and up front about the pluses and minuses.

I've recommended Cedant to a number of friends, and I can honestly say that none of them have ever complained about my recommendation.

By the way, I currently host 5 sites with Cedant, and I haven't had a problem with any of them.

Perhaps I am the exception in this group, but I find that hard to believe.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(1)

I am really happy

posted on Aug 02, 2003 by Fr. Bill Kessler

User email:

Web site: www.cippug.org

Used the services of Cedant for: 1 year - 3 years

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of Aug 02, 2003): Current customer

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: Standard

Customer support rating: 7

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 8

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 8

I have to say that I have only had good luck with Cedant. They have failed to return a call only once. I must say that I did have problems getting a new website registered through their third party registrar, but their side of things was up and running in minutes. They have been courteous and helpful to me even helping me get my Movable Type site set up.

Peace,

Fr. Bill Kessler


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Wicked happy with Cedant

posted on Aug 01, 2003 by Anonymous

User email: n/a

Web site: wickedgoodgames.com

Used the services of Cedant for: 1 year - 3 years

Date when last hosted by Cedant (as of Aug 01, 2003): 1 year - 3 years ago

Cedant Web Hosting Plan used: standard

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Cedant Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 8

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 9

This is my second year of hosting with Cedant and I have no complaints. E-mail responses from customer service have been quick, in fact I often get multiple responses : ) I've experienced no down time at all, even during the server migration last year. I recently e-mailed them voicing concern about the bandwidth afforded with their respective plans. This in view of the much higher allowable amounts by providers like IpowerWeb, Globat, LunaPages and others. Within an hour I got a response that I wouldn't be charged for going over my plan amount thru September. When I visited their site a few days later I noticed those allowances had been increased for each plan!!
Cedant is the first and only hosting service I've used so I have little to compare it against except my personal experience which has been very good to this point.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

If you have used the services of Cedant, you can review and rate them here:
1-worst 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10-best

You will be able to add a review of Cedant, once you submit this form. Adding a review will give more weight to your vote.


This site is not connected with Cedant in any way. The user reviews published here are solely user opinions and they should not be taken as a substitute for your own research, as well as they should not be relied upon for making your decisions or any other purpose.