Ratings, reviews, plans and features to help you find the right web hosting provider for your site.

Reviews of Burton Hosting

Burton Hosting : User Reviews
Web Host Site: http://www.burtonhosting.com/
[Add To Favourites] [Submit a review]

Burton Hosting are dedicated in supplying the hosting package that suits you and your company. Starting $5/month you get 250 MB of Webspace, 5 GB of DataTransfer, PHP4, Perl, CGl-Bin, SSI, MySQL, Webmail and much more...

Burton Hosting web hosting plans listed at Best Host Ratings:



Average Rating of Burton Hosting


Overall rating

5.43/10

Customer support

5.07/10

Technical quality/Reliability

6.50/10

Cost/Value

6.29/10


Based on 24 user reviews and votes

Burton Hosting average Uptime 99.516%

View Details Based on 3204 days of uptime monitoring of 2 web sites hosted with Burton Hosting
Click here for complete reliability report

[ Reviews 1 - 10 ]   [ Reviews 11 - 14 ] 

Rest in peace

posted on Feb 27, 2009 by D Hurd

User email: Hidden

Web site: dougsinc.com

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Feb 27, 2009): Less than 3 months ago

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: Basic

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 5

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 1

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 2

For many years the price and service from Burton was jaw-dropping. I swear Matthew slept at his desk 365 days a year. But since mid-2008 (or earlier), they've started falling apart.
If you have to transfer a domain away from Burton, get the Domain Authorization Key (aka EPP) from https://manage.opensrs.net/ Use the same user/pass as your site Control Panel.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Burton ripoff, owes me $100

posted on Jan 28, 2009 by Steve Heineman

User email:

Web site: http://steveheineman.com

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Jan 28, 2009): N/A

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: personal budget

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 1

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

Burton disappeared without notice, taking the balance of my 2 year contract with them. Phones in UK and US are disconnected, service tickets left open and unanswered, their upstream server Global Net Access says they cannot contact them either. Does anyone have any information that could assist me in taking legal action against them? Who has a physical address, particularly in the USA?


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

They were great, but now they should be avoided!

posted on Nov 12, 2008 by Rob

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Nov 12, 2008): Less than 3 months ago

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 9

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 7

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 5

I was with Burton for years, and they were always very good for me (mind you, when they lowered their prices, they didn't lower mine automatically), they were easy to contact, helpful, and respond quickly to my requests.

However, and this is a big however, in recent months (June 2008) their support staff dropped off the map. Their forums went down, their phone numbers no longer worked, they didn't respond to emails or tickets ... a major cause of stress for me, as I really needed their help.

So, I extricated myself from them, which took nearly a month, as they had my domain name locked. I finally got it unlocked, and moved it, and I am now so very happy that I no longer have to deal with them.

Word to the wise. Never let someone else lock your domain name. Make sure you always have access to it!

Sorry Burton ... but I am warning others because you let me down so dramatically, and I don't want others to have to deal with the same issues.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Burton Hosting is gone

posted on Jul 20, 2008 by BB

User email: Hidden

Web site: bastosentertainment.com

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Jul 20, 2008): Less than 3 months ago

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 1

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

Well, Burton Hosting no longer responds to support tickets or emails. Their US number has been disconnected, and their UK number goes unanswered.

See the following for customer discussions over this defunct company:

http://www.theadminzone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50534

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=699705


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

StoneWalled!

posted on Jun 10, 2008 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: Hidden

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Jun 10, 2008): Hidden

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 7

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 9

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

A number of us who used to be very happy with Burton Hosting have had the horrific experience of being totally stonewalled for the last year or so. Their phones are disconnected, they don't respond at all to tickets or E-mails sent to their support address OR to individuals. Yet the sites are up.
We finally gave up and moved our six domains elsewhere. But we have friends who are still hosted there, and who have had no more luck than we did getting any kind of response.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Terrible

posted on Oct 24, 2007 by Jamie Frater

User email: Hidden

Web site: http://listverse.com

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: 1 month - 3 months

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Oct 24, 2007): Current customer

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 2

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 5

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 2

I migrated to BurtonHosting because my other host was taking my site down when traffic grew. At first on BurtonHosting I was on a shared server. After a short time it was not coping and they recommended I split my MySQL and front end on to two machines. I did so and that still didn't work (in fact overall responsiveness on the site dropped).

I finally moved to a dedicated server at their suggestion and cost of $150 per month. This has still not fixed things. My site is only 3 months old and I have not had a single week without downtime. This week I have had downtime every day. No one answers the support line numbers and emails are not replied to for hours. When I do get a reply I am told "we are monitoring and it all looks fine from here" which is, of course true - 10 hours later!

All of the support mails are answered by the same person (Matthew) and all of the forum posts are as well. I am starting to think that Matthew is an 18 year old buying from a wholesaler and selling from his parent's basement.

Also, in light of the fact that I believe BurtonHosting ran a fake Digg article to boost their sales, I suspect that the majority of the reviews above with scores of 10/10 are Burtonhosting posting themselves.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Service just gets better

posted on Oct 08, 2007 by Doug

User email: Hidden

Web site: www.dougsinc.com

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Oct 08, 2007): Current customer

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 8

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I swear the Tech Support people eat and sleep at their desks. By phone, email or chat, I'm astonished by the quick and quality replies. Lots of tools, stats, space, easiy to use.

I'm never going anywhere else!


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(1)

What they don't say

posted on Apr 08, 2006 by Daniel Guerrero

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: Hidden

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Apr 08, 2006): Hidden

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 1

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

I haven't used their services, but they seems to be unprofessional and I dislike that.
I enter to the page, and their packages seems to be very good in prices.
The first thing wrong I noticed is for dedicated, they had a $99 option, but if you enter into the page, you won't see nothing of $99 the lower price is for $139.99 other sites list a "value series" which are old servers at a really cheap cost, but they don't list nothing and not say how you can get that $99.

I though this was a minor mistake, so I decided to bought a small service for $5, I don't see anywhere a restriction.
I fill all my data, and next they show me the paying options (at least they show you before to pay) I see the really price was: 3 months - $21.00 for what I know $5 * 3 is not $21!, after see all the prices I notice the $5 is just for 12 months.

This is when I saw something is wrong with them, first because they enroll into a minimum 3 months period and they don't advice you about the really price, this looks very unprofessional and untrustworthy.

I won't use their services and maybe they are good, but if their billing police is this way, I can expect months later they charge me more money because some fee wasn't in their page.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(1)

The Best on the Internet

posted on Aug 18, 2003 by Matt Hayes

User email:

Web site: www.matthayes.com

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: 1 year - 3 years

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Aug 18, 2003): Current customer

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: Shared Hosting & Dedicated Server

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I used to have a shared hosting package and found Burton's support unbelievable! I thought it maybe a new customer thing but they just keep surprising me!

Now I have a dedicated server and have been running that for a few months with no problems apart from general questions from myself, and they've been answered pretty much straight away, I honestly dont think their support team sleep!


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Best host ever!

posted on Aug 12, 2003 by Alex

User email: n/a

Web site: N/A

Used the services of Burton Hosting for: less than a month

Date when last hosted by Burton Hosting (as of Aug 12, 2003): Current customer

Burton Hosting Web Hosting Plan used: PersonalValue

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Burton Hosting Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

Simply the best hosting company ever!

I've signed up for one of personal packages just a few days ago but I'm already impressed!
Their servers are really fast, excellent prices, but what really distinguishes BurtonHosting from other hosting companies is their support which is second to none. I've had several questions before and after signing up, and no matter if you conatact them by e-mail, using ticket-support system, ICQ or via forum, you're likely going to get response within few hours.
Today, I needed a number of Perl modules installed in order for my scripts to work and they installed them in less than 3 hours!

Keep up the good job guys!


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

[ Reviews 1 - 10 ]   [ Reviews 11 - 14 ] 
If you have used the services of Burton Hosting, you can review and rate them here:
1-worst 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10-best

You will be able to add a review of Burton Hosting, once you submit this form. Adding a review will give more weight to your vote.


This site is not connected with Burton Hosting in any way. The user reviews published here are solely user opinions and they should not be taken as a substitute for your own research, as well as they should not be relied upon for making your decisions or any other purpose.