Ratings, reviews, plans and features to help you find the right web hosting provider for your site.

Reviews of HostGator.com

HostGator.com : User Reviews
Web Host Site: http://www.hostgator.com
[Add To Favourites] [Submit a review]

HostGator is one of the world's top 10 largest web hosting companies with more than 2,200,000 hosted domains. We have over 260 employees to provide you superior around the clock support. We are the perfect choice whether you are looking for business, personal, or even Fortune 500 hosting. Every web hosting plan comes with a 45 day money back guarantee, 99.9% uptime guarantee, and is fully guaranteed by the owner himself. If you ever have a problem with the regular support, just ask that your ticket be assigned to Brent and he will personally take the time to give you the VIP attention that you deserve.


[Read our editor's review of HostGator.com]

HostGator.com web hosting plans listed at Best Host Ratings:

  • Hatchling
      $6.95 / month, Unlimited Space, Unlimited transfer
  • Baby
      $9.95 / month, Unlimited Space, Unlimited transfer
  • Swamp
      $14.95 / month, Unlimited Space, Unlimited transfer
  • Aluminum Reseller
      $24.95 / month, 24000 MB Space, 250.0 GB transfer
  • Basic Dedicated Server
      $174.00 / month, 80000 MB Space, 1500.0 GB transfer


Average Rating of HostGator.com


Overall rating

9.22/10

Customer support

6.09/10

Technical quality/Reliability

6.34/10

Cost/Value

7.17/10


Based on 89 user reviews and votes

HostGator.com average Uptime 99.950%

View Details Based on 4076 days of uptime monitoring of 5 web sites hosted with HostGator.com
Click here for complete reliability report

[ Reviews 1 - 10 ]   [ Reviews 11 - 20 ]  [ Reviews 21 - 30 ]  [ Reviews 31 - 35 ] 

Support is super slow!

posted on Feb 06, 2013 by Eric Caldwell

User email:

Web site: http://members.web-jive.com

Used the services of HostGator.com for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of Feb 06, 2013): Current customer

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: Business

Customer support rating: 2

Webhost Technical quality rating: 2

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 4

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 6

I have my own hosting company but, we run our support and billing system on Hostgator so that our clients don't get blocked when their account gets firewall blocked for whatever reason. What you will find with Hostgator is their ticket response is terribly slow. Find a smaller hosting company if your looking for faster support.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Still get billed after canceled account 1 1/2 years ago.

posted on Jan 23, 2012 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of HostGator.com for: less than a month

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of Jan 23, 2012): 1 year - 3 years ago

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: hostmonster

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 3

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 2

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

bought one of their share hosting plan back in June 2010. I canceled within 1 wk of opening because it wasn't for me. It's mostly because i wasn't familiar with hosting then.. I've been getting billed by them since for 8.95 a month. Didn't realized that i was still being billed until a year later. So i emailed them to stop billing me because I have not used their service since that week (6/2010) and have already canceled within the first month. Funny, my acct shows "suspended" but they continue to bill me each month. Still sending me the bill, 6 months later, even for this month, jan 2012! I've been with hostmonster since, however, i wish that hostmonster has vps. Want to get something better than a shared hosting -- kinda slow at times.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

This is honestly best hosting provider!

posted on Dec 30, 2011 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: www.zerzar.com

Used the services of HostGator.com for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of Dec 30, 2011): Current customer

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: hatchling

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I've been with HostGator for more than 5 years now. I hosted with them 4 or 5 sites.

Their uptime is very good. They do listen to their customers when they complain and they solve your problems if any very very fast.

don't go no where, host your site their and you will never regret.

Honestly they are the best!


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Wonderful Host

posted on Dec 01, 2011 by Todd Foster

User email:

Web site: http://rskingdom.com

Used the services of HostGator.com for: 1 month - 3 months

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of Dec 01, 2011): Current customer

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: Business Plan

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I honestly do not have one single complaint about hostgator. The service they have provided me has been top quality and I feel my websites will be hosted with them for a long time. My up time has been 100%. I have never seen my website down with the. If you are looking for a goods realiable host then I really do recommend using them with there amazing customer support. I phone yesterday because I had a problem with .htaccess and they fixed it with in 2 minutes of me going through security checks. This is what I love about them, before even talking to you they make sure and confirm you are the person talking to them. My last host Arvixe did not do this and it makes me feel a lot more comfortable having to spend 5 minutes finding my pin or transaction number knowing that I will never have any problems!


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Good Service

posted on Jul 24, 2011 by Mike

User email: Hidden

Web site: www.std-testing.org

Used the services of HostGator.com for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of Jul 24, 2011): Current customer

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I have been using HostGator for a while and the support is very good and site is never down.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Very Reliable & Excellent Tech Support

posted on Jun 03, 2011 by Christopher E. Clayton

User email:

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of HostGator.com for: 1 year - 3 years

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of Jun 03, 2011): Current customer

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

If you are looking for a dependable web host with excellent prices, superior technical knowledge, uptime and speed then look no further.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

excellent customer support

posted on May 26, 2011 by Derek

User email: Hidden

Web site: http://www.computerconscript.com

Used the services of HostGator.com for: 1 month - 3 months

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of May 26, 2011): Current customer

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I was with Infinology for 2 years. When my plan came close to expiring, I searched for a new webhost because Infinology is just plain aweful. I read may reviews and determined Hostgator to be the best value for the dollar. I also called them several times, even used the online chat support and they actually respond with courtesy! What a difference from Infinology.

Thus far, everything is going great with Hostgator. Read the majority of reviews and you will see most agree.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Best so Far

posted on Jul 31, 2010 by Craig

User email: Hidden

Web site: www.tuppencetalksnfl.com

Used the services of HostGator.com for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of Jul 31, 2010): Current customer

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: Reseller & Hatchling

Customer support rating: 8

Webhost Technical quality rating: 9

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 9

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 9

I have used numerous hosting companies over the years but so far Host gator have proven to be both reliable and helpful.

I have rarely needed to contact the support but so far when needed they have came through.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Great

posted on Apr 22, 2010 by Eclipse

User email: Hidden

Web site: http://www.battleofthelords.com

Used the services of HostGator.com for: 1 month - 3 months

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of Apr 22, 2010): Current customer

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 9

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

Great one to go with


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Best Web Hosting

posted on Apr 06, 2010 by Bayu Mukti

User email: Hidden

Web site: http://www.bayumukti.com

Used the services of HostGator.com for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by HostGator.com (as of Apr 06, 2010): 1 year - 3 years ago

HostGator.com Web Hosting Plan used: n/a

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

HostGator.com Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I like hostgator, I dont like hostmonster and bluehost.com .

hosmonster and bluehost very easy suspended account, not recomended hosting


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

[ Reviews 1 - 10 ]   [ Reviews 11 - 20 ]  [ Reviews 21 - 30 ]  [ Reviews 31 - 35 ] 
If you have used the services of HostGator.com, you can review and rate them here:
1-worst 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10-best

You will be able to add a review of HostGator.com, once you submit this form. Adding a review will give more weight to your vote.


This site is not connected with HostGator.com in any way. The user reviews published here are solely user opinions and they should not be taken as a substitute for your own research, as well as they should not be relied upon for making your decisions or any other purpose.