Ratings, reviews, plans and features to help you find the right web hosting provider for your site.

Reviews of Blue Host

Blue Host : User Reviews
Web Host Site: http://www.bluehost.com/
[Add To Favourites] [Submit a review]

BlueHost has been providing hosting solutions to thousands of business and personal web sites since 1996. Our internet hosting package helps businesses and individuals get high-powered service at a fraction of the cost. BlueHost specializes in customer satisfaction. Call us with your questions toll free! (888) 401-HOST (888) 401-4678

Blue Host web hosting plans listed at Best Host Ratings:



Average Rating of Blue Host


Overall rating

9.20/10

Customer support

7.69/10

Technical quality/Reliability

7.19/10

Cost/Value

8.23/10


Based on 84 user reviews and votes

Blue Host average Uptime 99.932%

View Details Based on 4249 days of uptime monitoring of 2 web sites hosted with Blue Host
Click here for complete reliability report

[ Reviews 1 - 10 ]   [ Reviews 11 - 20 ]  [ Reviews 21 - 27 ] 

Servers ALWAYS Going Down!!

posted on Aug 13, 2013 by Steve

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Blue Host for: Hidden

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of Aug 13, 2013): Hidden

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 4

Webhost Technical quality rating: 3

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 5

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 3

When I signed up with BlueHost, I was attracted by the prices and also their banner ads that seem to be everywhere.

I set up my website and thought everything was just fine. I even recommended them to many friends.

Then the trouble started....constant server downtime...constant server issues. I would go on twitter and see who else may be experiencing downtime...TONS of tweets all like mine!

It seems to be a regular occurrence too! I still check twitter to see the status and it seems like every other day...there is some issue!

STAY AWAY!!!! Save your money

I now host all my sites with SiteServing and they are the BOMB!


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Good stuff

posted on Mar 10, 2012 by Patrick

User email:

Web site: www.glancyhypnosis.com

Used the services of Blue Host for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of Mar 10, 2012): Current customer

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

Blue host has one product offering and it takes care of everything I need. I was with Ipowerweb for around 3 years with off-and-on problems. Switched to bluehost and it's been perfect.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Possibly good host if you have 1 site with almost no traffic

posted on Jan 24, 2012 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Blue Host for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of Jan 24, 2012): Current customer

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: Unlimited domains $6.95/month

Customer support rating: 7

Webhost Technical quality rating: 5

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 8

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 5

I signed up with bluehost after seeing it ranked number 1 on the wordpress site.

Prior to them, I had used 1&1, and compared to that host, bluehost is like night and day compared.

It was really easy to setup the site, and they have plenty of tutorials to help you along the way. Also, if you have problems, customer support is really fast to get a hold of, specially if you got a basic problem.

When I first started, I was getting barely any visitors to my site, and thus, never had any problems with bluehost. As the months went by and the number of visitors increased, I realized that my website was not loading as fast, and come to find out, bluehost had throttled my website.

They give you a generic page on how to troubleshoot what might be causing the problem , and after following all the recommended guidelines, I figured problem wouldn't happen anymore.

Unfortunately, that was not the case. I continued to have my website throttled, and that means that my site went from loading in 3-4 seconds, to loading up in 15 seconds up to 35 seconds. Obviously that caused my bounce rate to go up, and I had not done anything additional to my site. In other words, I didn't add any new plugins, or change my wordpress theme, and only change I did was add 3 more posts for a total of 16 total pages on the site.

Bluehost gave me the same generic link and I told them I had already adjusted the site to follow their guidelines, and their response was, then it must be a plugin on your site, or your wordpress theme. I have minimum plugin sites, but I thought, maybe is the theme, so i changed it to a basic wordpress theme.

I let that theme run for 8 days, and in that time frame i got throttled twice.

Bottom line is this: If you have one website with a traffic of 50-100 visitors a day, bluehost might be a great host; however, as your traffic starts to go up, and mine doesn't even reach 500 a day, then troubles might start.

Also, my site was down 2 times and they said it was because of server upgrades, but I never got any advanced notice about it. Then the 2nd time they said it was a server problem they were trying to fix. Fortunately that happened at a time when I have the least visitors, but not good if your website caters also to other continents.

Overall, I'm highly dissapointed with Bluehost. I get throttled at least once a week, and my website is down to bare minimals.

I'm looking to change host, and in all fairness, bluehost is easy to setup, and it might be great if yo u're starting out with a website, but if you have more than one site, and it gets at least 200 visitors a day, good luck with them. Find another host.

But reading other hosts, at least my site is up and running 99.9% of the times; it loads very slow, but at least it loads.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Pretty good for me

posted on Nov 08, 2011 by dd

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Blue Host for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of Nov 08, 2011): Current customer

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: They only have 1 plan

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I have two personal websites hosted with them. I should point out I am a very basic user who puts very little demand on the site. For three years now I have been hosted with them and happy with the service provided. Customer service has been friendly, and I have never needed technical support. I do wish they offered more in the way of free scripts or add ons. For someone just wanting a site to play around or learn the basics, which is where I am, I can say they are perfect (I think the price just dropped as well). Anymore then that I can't attest too.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

So far so good

posted on Sep 29, 2011 by Mike J

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Blue Host for: less than a month

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of Sep 29, 2011): Current customer

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: business

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I switched to Bluehost a few weeks ago. Fast setup, easy-to-use Control Panel. Good value for the money


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Consistently excellent

posted on Sep 05, 2011 by John Draper

User email: Hidden

Web site: cobourginternet.com

Used the services of Blue Host for: 1 year - 3 years

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of Sep 05, 2011): Current customer

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

The uptime is the single most important thing and they have only a few seconds here and there when they cannot be accessed. First class. Phone support 7/24 is good. I like features like Fantastico, unlimited add-on domains, PHP suppport and MySQL. The forum often has answers too. Their C-Panel is enhanced to be the best I've seen.
I have 14 accounts there and they'll get more unless they drop the ball - but no sign of it yet.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(1)

Excellent Uptime & Support!

posted on May 27, 2011 by Anthony

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of Blue Host for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of May 27, 2011): Over 3 years ago

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I have been with Bluehost for a little over 3 years now. I am constantly working on my websites and relying heavily on the email service. So far they have proved to be very reliable overall. When you call technical support you get through very quickly any time of the day.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

The best hosting

posted on May 07, 2011 by Marisa

User email: Hidden

Web site: http://www.mydandelionpatch.com

Used the services of Blue Host for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of May 07, 2011): Current customer

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

The plan is very generous, the price is more than reasonable. Most important, customer service/tech support is superb. The phone menu system is simple and gets you to a live human with just a few selections.

Blue Host should be the model for all hosting companies. They're that good.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(1)

Verry Good!!``

posted on Feb 22, 2011 by Balakrishna Kini

User email:

Web site: www.balakrishnakini.com

Used the services of Blue Host for: 1 month - 3 months

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of Feb 22, 2011): Current customer

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: Platinum

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

The service is very good... the servers are always up...good features for cheaper rate!!!


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

So far so good

posted on May 02, 2010 by John

User email: Hidden

Web site: http://www.enemyofgoodenough.com

Used the services of Blue Host for: less than a month

Date when last hosted by Blue Host (as of May 02, 2010): Current customer

Blue Host Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 8

Blue Host Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 8

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 8

So far so good. I wanted to mention that although somewhere on bhr it says that you can have multiple cPanels for addon domains--this is not possible with BlueHost.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

[ Reviews 1 - 10 ]   [ Reviews 11 - 20 ]  [ Reviews 21 - 27 ] 
If you have used the services of Blue Host, you can review and rate them here:
1-worst 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10-best

You will be able to add a review of Blue Host, once you submit this form. Adding a review will give more weight to your vote.


This site is not connected with Blue Host in any way. The user reviews published here are solely user opinions and they should not be taken as a substitute for your own research, as well as they should not be relied upon for making your decisions or any other purpose.