Ratings, reviews, plans and features to help you find the right web hosting provider for your site.

Reviews of A Small Orange

A Small Orange : User Reviews
Web Host Site: http://www.asmallorange.com/
[Add To Favourites] [Submit a review]

From simple to advanced websites, A Small Orange can fit your current needs and grow with you. Provided with every hosting account is full support coverage and a variety of special features.

A Small Orange web hosting plans listed at Best Host Ratings:

  • Tiny
      $2.08 / month, 75 MB Space, 3.0 GB transfer
  • Small
      $5.00 / month, 400 MB Space, 10.0 GB transfer
  • Medium
      $10.00 / month, 1000 MB Space, 25.0 GB transfer
  • Large
      $20.00 / month, 2500 MB Space, 60.0 GB transfer
  • Super
      $30.00 / month, 4500 MB Space, 100.0 GB transfer


Average Rating of A Small Orange


Overall rating

6.29/10

Customer support

7.38/10

Technical quality/Reliability

4.38/10

Cost/Value

4.88/10


Based on 18 user reviews and votes

A Small Orange average Uptime 99.891%

View Details Based on 3123 days of uptime monitoring of 2 web sites hosted with A Small Orange
Click here for complete reliability report

Stay away from this hosting

posted on Jan 25, 2012 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of A Small Orange for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by A Small Orange (as of Jan 25, 2012): Current customer

A Small Orange Web Hosting Plan used: Cloud

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

A Small Orange Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 1

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

The servers are down and crashing in an almost dialy basis, and if you do not email them, the sites are kept down. So, expect writing and reading emails with tech support all the time and also expect to have to constantly monitor you site because the reliability=0 means that there is a highly chance that your site is down and no one will notice if you don't write and write emails all the time.

Fast and nice tech support, althought with that nightmare of service they surely need terapists instead of technicians.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

A Small Orange but a Big host

posted on Aug 11, 2009 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of A Small Orange for: over 3 years

Date when last hosted by A Small Orange (as of Aug 11, 2009): Current customer

A Small Orange Web Hosting Plan used: Medium

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 10

A Small Orange Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 10

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 10

I have been with ASO for over 3 years and have two accounts with them, ASO was the first the 1st big web host that I tried and I never had to look any further, they have been providing excellent service in all aspects.

The support has been very helpful and responsive, whenever I have dropped any mail to help@asmallorange.com I have got a response within 30 minutes, they also helped my out of the way by manually moving a sub-domain from one account to other.

Price is great as compared to the features the are offering , the plans are only limited in terms of bandwidth and disk space, all other features like ad-on domains, sql db’s etc are unlimited, they also give you shell access on their cheap shared hosting plans. Price of extra bandwidth and disk space is also very reasonable.

I would strongly suggest ASO as a solid and economical host.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

They're Really Bad.

posted on Apr 08, 2009 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of A Small Orange for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by A Small Orange (as of Apr 08, 2009): Current customer

A Small Orange Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 3

Webhost Technical quality rating: 3

A Small Orange Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 2

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 3

Our site goes down ALL THE TIME. They're costing us sales and customer interest. They never respond and they're impossible to get in touch with.

They always have some b-s runaround answer about why our site won't load. It's ridiculous.

DON'T USE THEM. THEY SUCK.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Good hosting provider

posted on Mar 25, 2009 by Midave

User email: Hidden

Web site: www.midave.com

Used the services of A Small Orange for: 3 months - 1 year

Date when last hosted by A Small Orange (as of Mar 25, 2009): Current customer

A Small Orange Web Hosting Plan used: Tiny

Customer support rating: 9

Webhost Technical quality rating: 9

A Small Orange Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 8

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 9

A Small Orange is a good hosting provider. Great customer support with reliable servers. Also they don't overselling.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Poor Uptime - High server loads

posted on Aug 01, 2008 by Phoenix

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of A Small Orange for: 1 month - 3 months

Date when last hosted by A Small Orange (as of Aug 01, 2008): Less than 3 months ago

A Small Orange Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 7

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

A Small Orange Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 5

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 4

amsallorange sucks big time.

here is the fact -

I was happy with medialayer and icdsoft for 2 years now. But then i found amsallorange hosting as i read some good reviews about it. I liekd the features and since many users were happy i decided to join. But to my shock amsallorange's uptime is very poor. After 3 months of horrible uptime and being moved around in 3 different servers.. i have decided to leave.

The shared hosting server used to go down now like 9 pins. On a daily basis the server would go offline, the db would fail or there would be high server loads. (40)

Initially my complaints was taken lightly and corrective measures were not taken. Then later i was told to check the codes in my websites. I did check them and found to be ok. Later the asmallorange support confirmed that my sites codes were good and not causing any load on the server. They had a hard time in catching errant accounts that were causing high server loads and spikes. The high server load continued despite contacting them on almost 5 days a week for around 2 months.

ASO support dismissed my posts saying that this is inherent problems of shared hosting. If that is the case then nobody would have taken shared hosting. i am ok with a downtime happening in a week or so..but here at ASO , the server was being restarted almost evry other day, the server would go offline daily ..the server went offline multiple times in a sinlge day and this has repeated for 2 months now.

i have fair share of experience of hosting sites in a shared hosting environment but never does the server go down everyday because of high server loads like this.

one more thing is that if we complain about such low uptime to support- they offer VPS that is expensive and that too unmanaged.

Mr.Tim - the owner of ASO who usually posts in the ASO's forums has also been unresponsive to my complaints.

i had also referred 2 of my friends to use asmallorange's shared hosting. But within a month both who have moved out of asmallorange due to the bad uptime.

Since i had taken a monthly account i can discontinue without much loss. Since then i have decided to experiment with a new host which accepts monthly payments.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

Constant downtime during peak hours

posted on Jul 12, 2008 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of A Small Orange for: Hidden

Date when last hosted by A Small Orange (as of Jul 12, 2008): Hidden

A Small Orange Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 9

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

A Small Orange Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 6

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 7

During my first experiences with A Small Orange, I was completely pleased. My website was always up, and if there was ever a problem, the support was quick to fix it.

These days, my website goes down every two days, especially during the peak hours, which means I am losing money. The support does not offer any solutions anymore, and they always beat around the bush.

When the server goes back up, it is only partially up, and my websites cannot connect to their databases.

And since I paid for the full year, I cannot even get any of my money back.

But, I don't even care, I signed up with another host. Even though I lost money for the remaining months on the hosting, I will make it up with the uptime with my new host.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

A provider you choose for service, not value.

posted on Dec 07, 2007 by Willis McClintock

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of A Small Orange for: 1 year - 3 years

Date when last hosted by A Small Orange (as of Dec 07, 2007): Current customer

A Small Orange Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 10

Webhost Technical quality rating: 9

A Small Orange Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 6

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 9

I've been with ASO now for two and a half years. I've been through everything with them from a compromised Drupal install to Data Facility migration to a server retirement (Omega). They've had their rough spots with uptime here and there, and I can't say that they're the cheapest out there from a storage space and bandwidth perspective, but they offer some of the cheapest packages available for smaller needed sites, and their technical support and customer service has been fantastic. They take responsibility when they flub up, and they always help where they can.

I've never had any issues with them that weren't able to be dealt with, their tech support has never been harsh or insulting even when I screwed up unknowingly and went in guns blazing when I thought it was their fault, and they've always worked with me when I've needed help. Tim and company provide a great service, and the only thing I would ask for to truly improve would be a consistency of getting credit for referrals.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

a small orange sucks

posted on Jun 21, 2007 by Hidden

User email: Hidden

Web site: Hidden

Used the services of A Small Orange for: Hidden

Date when last hosted by A Small Orange (as of Jun 21, 2007): Hidden

A Small Orange Web Hosting Plan used: Hidden

Customer support rating: 1

Webhost Technical quality rating: 1

A Small Orange Web hosting services Cost/Value rating: 1

Web hosting provider Overall rating: 1

Alright this is going to sound so bad, you might not even believe it, but this is exactly what happened. After seeing all these good reviews everywhere for A Small Orange, I figured they must be a good and reliable host. Boy was I wrong.

I signed up for their services and received an automatic email saying they received my order, and it would be processed in 24 hours. Four days go by and I get nothing. So I email them asking them what happened and they said, (quoting from my email proof that I saved in case I needed it for legal purposes) “No, the order didn't process. You'll have to go through the sign-up process again.”

So I signed up for the second time and got another automatic message saying my order would be processed within 24 hours. Guess what? Three days later and again, no word from them!

I emailed them telling them I was canceling my order after they failed twice to process it, and was considering looking into them for possible fraud. Funny thing happened, almost as soon as I emailed them canceling my order, I got billed by them!

Next day (today) I logged into my card account and breathed a sigh of relief as the charge was gone. They said, “The account was marked fraud and both transactions voided.”

I’m taking the time to put this out there because I think people should have a fair perspective from both sides. ASO has a small cult-like following similar to Macintosh so I doubt this will do very much, but people should know about my experience with them. Good luck on your web host search.


Webhost can reply to this review here

User Comments(0)

If you have used the services of A Small Orange, you can review and rate them here:
1-worst 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10-best

You will be able to add a review of A Small Orange, once you submit this form. Adding a review will give more weight to your vote.


This site is not connected with A Small Orange in any way. The user reviews published here are solely user opinions and they should not be taken as a substitute for your own research, as well as they should not be relied upon for making your decisions or any other purpose.